Sarcasm for Breakfast

Bad Luck Blues

Posted on: February 13, 2012

Well, hello there! I’ve been off the grid for a while now – seventy-five days, to be exact – and while I haven’t forgotten about you, I just couldn’t find the time/muster up the energy to squeeze out another post. But the tumbleweeds weren’t just here. My interactions with all forms of social media have been pretty limited these past couple months. I appreciate all of the emails, tweets, comments, texts, etc. about my well-being. It’s a nice feeling to know that others are thinking of you.

When it rains, it pours – so the saying goes. Do you believe that? When something bad happens, do you find yourself being bombarded with more bad news? If you wake up on the wrong side of the bed, so to speak, does it seem like your day just never gets any better? Well, that’s how it usually goes for me. Lately, there’s just been a rain cloud over my head and it won’t let up. I try not to let it get me down, but it gets really tough sometimes to act like I’m not being rained on, ya know? I’m often accused of having a cynical outlook on things, but I don’t see it that way. I’m a pragmatic individual and as such, have a realistic point of view on most things. I don’t see the glass as half-empty or half-full. I see it for what it is – a glass with water in it – nothing more. I rarely look for the silver lining, because that tiny bit of good won’t fix the problem I’m dealing with. Sadly, I often let the monkey on my back weigh me down, and I get stressed without really knowing it at the time. So I’ve been away all this time, trying to get my life back in order. One step forward, two steps back… But I’m still moving.

One thing that helps me get through rough patches is ranting. Maybe it’s a woman thing, I don’t know. I usually rant to my mom, but she’s out of the country at the moment. So that’s what I’m about to do guys, ok? Can I complain to you for a minute? Cool. I knew I could count on you. 😉

First of all, I’m sick. And not the horrible kind of sick where you miss work and need to go to the ER, but the annoying kind of sick where you can’t do anything but ride it out. I feel like the people in those commercials whose heads turn into balloons. I’m so congested and my sinuses are on fire. My nose is raw from all the blowing and it runs constantly like I’m three years old. Not a good look. I look how I feel, which is even more depressing. I’ve been having trouble with my car for the past few weeks, so I took it to a mechanic. He charged me $175 to diagnose the problem, but didn’t actually fix it. It also turns out that he really didn’t diagnose anything, I can’t get my money back, and now I’ll be paying more money to a dealership to do what should have been done in the first place. So today, I left my car that won’t start at home while I worked… and when I came back I noticed that mysteriously, my motherfu**ing windshield is cracked. It hasn’t moved the entire day, but somehow managed that. And to top off my recent stroke of bad luck, my garbage disposal is broken and I need to get the drain in my basement snaked so my sump pump will stop backing up. Do you see why I’m such an advocate for guys who can fix things? Seriously.

Could it all be worse? Of course! I know that there are people who have it much worse than I do. Can I be selfish right now and just worry about me, though? I can? Thanks, guys. You’re awesome.

Whew. That was cathartic. I’m not looking for advice or solutions to anything. I just like to get it all off my mind. This is my way to keep on keepin’ on. Misery loves company and all that. Sometimes you just want to tell someone about your sucky day, and that’s it. I know this was kind of all over the place, but I didn’t really take much time to get my thoughts together. I had an entirely different post planned for Valentine’s Day, but I wasn’t feeling in the right mood for it. Anyway, thanks for listening. Could I have packed more cliches into this post? Is there anything you need to get off your chest? Did you have a shitty day/week/month/2012? Talk to me in the comments.

2 Responses to "Bad Luck Blues"

Its like I told you. Sometimes its necessary to vent. Just to keep on keeping on. You can’t always take the high road all the time. Really hope you’re feeling better soon.

Ha, I had the sump pump issues here a couple months ago…copped a home warranty real quick, waited the madated 30 days and put in a claim to have that bad boy replaced, lol.

Add your $.02

It’s Meeee!

Enter your email address to receive new posts by email.

Goodreads

SFB's Visitors

  • 7,323 hits

The Archives…